Love Field 5k 2018

The one with the mile PR…

Today, I’ll cut right to it. I am on a mission to get my 5k time under 19 minutes, and I went out for the first mile with that in mind. We went out at a fast pace, but I didn’t know exactly how fast until my watch buzzed. Mile 1. 5:49. What? My fastest mile time by 12 seconds and my greatest victory of the day.

My lungs were not happy after that and my pace dropped off, but that’s okay. This was a get back out there and run a 5k while not 100% kind of race. I had to be realistic! Mile 2. 6:28. I finished in 19:55. 4th Overall Female.

I made sure to get a good cool down of about 3 miles, and I did a fair amount of coughing afterwards. Hopefully, that’s the last of it.

Running on the runway was quite an experience. I’m looking forward to racing there again next year!

Thanks for reading! Like! Share! Follow! Comment!

Author: irunelite

I am an elite long distance runner, logging 70-80 miles a week. I train all year for distances ranging from the 5k to the half marathon. Along with running, I enjoy spending time with my husband and two kids, drawing, writing, and playing chess.

5 thoughts on “Love Field 5k 2018”

Leave a comment