Another Pre-race Workout

Sweatiest workout of the year. 6 a.m. and already 83 degrees.

The Workout

2 mile warm up

Drills- skips, high knees, etc

6 x 1 minute @ 10k pace/effort with 1 minute jog in between

4 minute jog

6 x 1 minute @ 5k pace/effort with 1 minute jog in between

2 mile cool down

The warm up plus strides…

Here is the ‘work’ portion of the workout…

I feel good about this workout, and I am happy with myself for getting down to my 5k pace.

Do you have any races coming up? Let me know!

Author: irunelite

I am an elite long distance runner, logging 70-80 miles a week. I train all year for distances ranging from the 5k to the half marathon. Along with running, I enjoy spending time with my husband and two kids, drawing, writing, and playing chess.

4 thoughts on “Another Pre-race Workout”

  1. That’s a fine looking workout, especially in that summer heat. Cool track pic too.

    I’m racing a 5 miler tomorrow morning. I’m nervous, but I’m keeping my expectations low. I’m not quite in race shape yet. I’d be super happy if I break 36.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks. I am still rehydrating… 101 outside right now.

      Have fun tomorrow! That is awesome that you are getting back into training and racing. Building up cautiously will pay off as I am sure you know and have probably been told a million times now. : )

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment