A Runner’s Satisfaction

This week’s Daily Post Topic on WordPress…Satisfaction.  Something that satisfies me…Satisfies me as a runner.  As a competitive runner, I constantly work towards my goals.  If I meet a goal, I raise the bar.

In high jump, if you clear the bar, you don’t just stop there.  Even if you’ve won, you give the next height a shot.  Right?

Satisfaction.

Achieving a goal.  Winning a race.  These give satisfaction, but I am a Runner.  I like to keep going.

In a race, look forward.  Focus on catching the runner in front of you, and just keep running.  If you win celebrate.  If finishing is a win, enjoy that feeling of accomplishment.  

Satisfaction.

What is more satisfying than winning a race or setting a new PR?​

The training.  The sweat.  The two a days.  The race planning.  The confidence in the middle of a strong race or training run.  The worn out shoes.  The soreness from a tough workout.  The progress….

The Journey.  The Journey gives me satisfaction.

Thanks for reading!  Like!  Share!  Follow!  Comment!

Click Here to follow me on Facebook.

Click Here to follow me on Instagram.

Author: irunelite

I am an elite long distance runner, logging 70-80 miles a week. I train all year for distances ranging from the 5k to the half marathon. Along with running, I enjoy spending time with my husband and two kids, drawing, writing, and playing chess.

8 thoughts on “A Runner’s Satisfaction”

    1. Thank you! That is a huge part of my journey since every part of training is working to achieve those race goals. I teared up when I ran sub 1:30 in a half marathon for the first time. : ) I imagine that your sub 3:00 marathon was quite satisfying. That is what I am currently working towards.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. The sub 3 has given me my most satisfying running experience. It’s something I worked very hard to achieve and took me a long time. It’s also given me the confidence to try and push myself further. Good luck on your journey to sub 3. I am sure you will get there, look forward to seeing your posts when you do. I’m enjoying talking running with you recently.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Thank you. I expect it to be long journey for me too. Once it cools down a little here, I will be able to see how close I am to that goal. And I enjoy this as well. : )

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment